Call Transfer (Consultive)

When you transfer a call to another person, you have the option to talk to the intended recipient first before going forward with the transfer. This is called a consultive transfer.


(If your phone supports it, you can also transfer a call without talking to the other person, which is called a blind transfer- see separate guide)


To transfer a call:


  • From Active Call, Lines, or Calls view, tap Transfer. The active call is held.

  • From the Dialer, enter the number for the person you want to transfer the call to.

    Or Instead of entering or selecting a number from the Dialer, you can select a directory entry or a favorite to transfer the call to:

    • To transfer to a directory entry: After you tap Transfer, press the Home key , tap Directories, and then tap Contact Directory or Corporate Directory. Search for the person, and then call them.

    • To transfer to a favorite: After you tap Transfer, tap Favorites, and tap the favorite you want to call.

  • When you hear the ring-back sound, tap Transfer keys to complete the transfer.

    Or, let the call connect and talk and consult with the person first, and then tap Transfer keys to complete the transfer.

  • To cancel the transfer before the call connects, tap Cancel.


Did you find it helpful? Yes No

Send feedback
Sorry we couldn't be helpful. Help us improve this article with your feedback.