Poly VVX 250/350/450 Restarting, Updating Software, and Factory Reset

If your phone is malfunctioning or require updates you or your phone system administrator may want to perform one of the following:


Restarting/Rebooting - this will bring the phone back to the its last configured state. It is also required sometimes when TeleConsole settings have been updated such as after modifying TeleConsole BLF settings.


Updating software  -  updating the phone's software, when a new version is released, may resolve or improve phone performance issues. 


Factory reset - this erases the current configuration and apply the original configuration the phone was shipped with from the factory.  


Restarting/Rebooting Your Phone


Restarting your phone is generally safe to do under most circumstances. However, before restarting you may want to let your phone system administrator try to restore normal phone operation without a restart.

To restart your phone do one of the following:


  • Press and hold 0, 1, and 3 dial pad keys simultaneously for about three seconds until you hear a confirmation tone.

  • Select Settings from Main Menu, and navigate to Basic.

    Select Restart Phone (or Reboot softkey on the VVX 450).

    Select Yes or OK when the when prompted with a confirmation message. 

The restart process ends when the default screen displays.

If your phone is frozen and does not response to the above methods you can also restart it simply by unplugging and replugging it. It is still advisable you try to use the above methods whenever possible.


Upgrading Software


Viewing Software Details


You can view the details for the software version on your phone, the latest software update available for your phone, and the status of the latest update. 


To see these details Navigate to Settings from the Main Menu and select Status > Software > Update.


Updating the Phone's Software


When new software is available a notification is displayed on your phone and you have the option to update your software, postpone the software update, or exit the notification.


To update the Phone's Software select Update when prompted to update your software. The phone reboots and the software is updated on the phone.


Postponing an Update


Instead of updating your software immediately you can choose to postpone the update from 15 minutes up to six hours. To do so select Postpone when prompted to update your software and select one of the time options. The notification is removed from the phone screen and is displayed again during the remaining five minutes of the postpone time selected.


You can postpone the software update up to three times. After the third time, the notification is displayed without the Postpone option.


If you do not update the phone's software after the postpone time, a notification with a countdown is displayed and the phone automatically reboots and updates the software when the countdown ends.


If you postpone a software update and the time period you chose ends while you're on an active call, a software update notification with a countdown is displayed after the call ends. After the countdown ends, the phone reboots and updates the software.


Exiting the Software Update Notification


When the software update notification is displayed, you also have the option to exit the notification without choosing to update or postpone the software by  selecting Exit.


When you exit the notification, a SWUpdate softkey is displayed on the Lines screen. Select it at any time to start the software update.


Factory Reset

 

This is only recommended after you have tried all other troubleshooting suggestions since the operation will delete all your personal configuration settings and reset them to the factory defaults. It is therefore advisable to have your phone system administrator backup your personalized settings before proceeding with a factory reset.


To prevent accidental factory reset you are usually required to enter the phone's administrator password before you can access the factory reset option. The default password is 456.  


There are three ways to perform a factory reset - from the phone's Main Menu screen,  from the web configuration utility, or during a phone restart. The later allows you to perform a reset even if you have changed and have forgotten the admin password. 


Main Menu Screen Reset


This is the easiest and fastest way to perform a factory reset. If the phone has been configured accordingly, the reset option may be available from the Basic menu without having to enter an administrator password. Otherwise you will need to use the Advanced menu. 


To perform a factory reset without an admin password from the Basic menu (if available):


  • Select Settings from Main Menu, and navigate to Basic.

  • Select Reset to Factory. 

To perform a factory reset from the advanced menu:


  • Select Settings from Main Menu, and navigate to Advanced.

  • Enter the phone's admin password. The default password is 456 (see next if you changed and forgot it.)

  • Select Admin Settings.

  • Select Reset to Factory. 

Factory Reset During a Phone Restart


If you have changed and forgotten your admin password than, before proceeding with the factory reset, you will need to find out the phone's MAC address. You can find the MAC address by doing one of the following:


  • Look for a sticker on the bottom of the phone. The MAC address is the 12 digits hexadecimal number, just above the bar code, that usually starts with 0004f.

  • If the sticker is missing or faded you can access the Main Menu screen and select Settings>Status>Platform>Phone.

    Write down the 12 digits hexadecimal number in the S/N: or Mac: field.

  • Access the phone via the web configuration utility. The MAC address appears on the home page.

To perform a factory reset during restart:


  • Restart the phone as explained above and press the Cancel Softkey to stop the reboot process.

    A "countdown autoboot" screen will display. Ignore any of the the options here and instead...

  • Press and hold the 1, 3, and 5 keys simultaneously on the dial pad.

    You can let go of the keys once an admin password prompt appears.

  • On the dial pad, enter 456 for the admin password or...

    If you have changed and forgotten the admin password, enter the MAC Address you obtained above.

    To switch between letters and numbers press the input modifier softkey (which initially appears as 1->Aa). When entering letters press once for the first letter on the key, twice consecutively for the second, and three times consecutively for the third.
  • Select the OK softkey.

After the factory reset process is done the admin password will become the default 456.


Factory Reset From the Web Configuration Utility


The one advantage of the Web Configuration Utility is that it allows you do to a factory reset remotely. 


To perform a factory reset from the Web Configuration Utility:


  • Log in to the web configuration utility as described here.

  • From the  to the Utilities menu select Phone Backup and Restore > Global Settings > Restore.

Did you find it helpful? Yes No

Send feedback
Sorry we couldn't be helpful. Help us improve this article with your feedback.