Messages (SMS/MMS) and Conversations

Select on the top-left corner to access your Messages Screen. It is divided to two columns - the left one listing existing SMS/MMS conversations (a conversation is a sequence of messages between you and another party) and the right one for seeing a conversation's content or to start a new conversation.


If you cannot receive or see any messages ("No messages found" is displayed in the left column) check the SMS Text Channels - MANAGE PHONE NUMBERS option in the TeleConsole's settings and ensure that at least one of your SMS channels is active!


Otherwise, if you have not used the SMS line before select     to compose a new SMS/MMS message.


Starting a New Conversation


After clicking the Start conversation button enter a contact's name or number in the To field at the top. Matching results, for both company and personal contacts, will be suggested. Select the desired one(s). If you selected one by mistake click next to it to remove it.

If a contact has more than one phone number all will be shown. 


You obviously need to select a number that can receive SMS messages (a real mobile number or VoIP number that is compatible with SMS, such as Telebroad's business SMS) otherwise the message will not be delivered. An undelivered message will be marked with  in the conversation content window which, when clicked, will show an error message "Destination phone number cannot receive SMS messages" at the bottom of the screen.



If you have more than one SMS line you can click the From: field and select the line you want to send the message from. The default number appearing here is selected in the Default SMS Number option of the TeleConsole's settings.


You can attach images to your message by selecting . Drag and drop the image you want to attach from another window to the drag-and-drop box or click the box to open a file navigation window and select the relevant file. The file you attached shows up as a thumbnail and you can remove it by selecting . Add additional images by selecting the Add file button. Select any of the thumbnails to show a larger preview of the image above it.


Note that adding images to your message convert it to an MMS message. This doesn't really matter to you, but may result in additional fees to the recipient. 


Type the text of  your message in the Type a message field and select to send it. You can insert emojis in the text by clicking . To display different emojis select a category at the top of the emojis window or type a search term in the search field ("fruit" in the example shown here.) 



Conversation Content and Options


Click   on the top-right corner to select the type of conversations to show. Select All Conversations (both read and unread conversations) or just Unread Conversations.


Click any conversation to show its content. You can continue the conversation by replying with a text message or an image just as when you do when starting a new conversation.

Note that you can change the SMS line you are using (If you have more than one SMS line) at any time from the drop-down menu at the top. Doing so, however, may split the conversation between the different lines at the recipient's end!

 

On the top-right corner of the screen you have three options for the conversation:

  • Select   to place a call to the person whom you are conversing with. The dial pad screen will open with the other party's number automatically inserted in the call recipient's field.

  • Select   to open the details of an existing contact of the person who you are conversing with or to add him as a new contact.

  • Select   to delete the entire conversation. Select DELETE when prompted to approve the deletion.
     


If you click any text message inside the conversation you get the options to Copy text (which you can paste in any text field in the TeleConsole or other program) or Delete. Select DELETE when prompted to approve the deletion. Deleting will affect just the selected message and not the entire conversation! 


If you click an image inside the conversation you get the option to Download the image to your local or network drive or Delete it from the conversation.


Did you find it helpful? Yes No

Send feedback
Sorry we couldn't be helpful. Help us improve this article with your feedback.